By using this website, you agree that we use cookies. Learn more

There are many ways to make your stay at the Hotel Breitenburg pleasurable according to your own personal preferences. Whether you prefer a calm and tranquil experience or a close to nature or active one – whichever you choose, we have the accommodations to offer an enjoyable stay.

For those who wish to experience our vibrant local history, the Museum of the County of Rantzau is located on the castle island. Life in this region can be traced back to the year 1140.

Horse Riding Horse Riding

Horse Riding

Horse riding has a long tradition at Schloss Breitenburg and the Lord Breido Graf of Rantzau is a horse breeder, former show jumper, as well as the president of the German Equestrian Association. The Breitenburger “Reitertage” – a highlight for all fans of show jumping – take place on the site every two years.

Guests of the hotel are welcome to bring their own horse. The hotel stables are always ready and available for guests to use. From beginners to experienced tournament riders, we also offer individual training on request.

Yoga Yoga

Yoga

It is no longer a secret: Yoga strengthens the body and ensures more joie de vivre and balance in everyday life. Our guests can benefit from the healing power of yoga. From powerful-athletic to calm-meditative – we have the appropriate course for all skill levels. After one of our yoga courses you will return to everyday life with renewed strength.

Bicycle tours & hiking Bicycle tours & hiking

Bicycle tours & hiking

The Breitenburg region is a true paradise for cyclists and hikers. Unique nature with wide fields and meadows, as well as centuries-old paths are a jewel for everyone who likes to take the time to stop, pause and discover. Ask us about the most beautiful routes – we will be happy to help you.

Schloss Breitenburg Schloss Breitenburg

Schloss Breitenburg

The family at Rantzau has been residing at Schloss Breitenburg for nearly 500 years. The castle is still the private residence of various family members, but it is also an important cultural site, which includes the historically valuable library.

Every now and then the noble family opens the doors and offers tours of the castle and the grounds. If this opportunity is available to you, please do not miss it. You can inquire about appointments at the reception.

Boule/Pétanque Boule/Pétanque

Boule/Pétanque

The traditional French game of Boule (or Pétanque) is often played on the hotel grounds. Precision and concentration are paramount and indispensable here, if you want to be on the winning side. The goal is to place your own balls close to the piggy, the small colored ball made of wood.

Wine Tasting Wine Tasting

Wine Tasting

Selected wines, exquisite ambience, shared expertise and small culinary highlights – welcome to our wine tasting. Experience how many facets wine can have and what stories it tells. Discover flavors, winemakers, and growing areas. Our sommelier will guide you through the evening, which is guaranteed to not be dry.

Picnic Picnic

Picnic

Whether you are looking for romance for two, relaxing with friends, or connect with family – a picnic in nature is always a very special experience, especially in the unique surroundings of Schloss Breitenburg. In short: We will pack a basket for you, and all you have to do is enjoy.

Local Chalk Pits Local Chalk Pits

Local Chalk Pits

If you are interested in geology and fossils, a tour of the Lägerdorfer chalk pits “Saturn” and “Heidestrasse” is highly recommended. Search for sea fossils under the expert guidance of experienced hobby paleontologists. The finds can of course be taken home afterwards.

Canoe tour of the Breitenburger Kanal Canoe tour of the Breitenburger Kanal

Canoe tour of the Breitenburger Kanal

The Breitenburger Canal, originally built by Graf Konrad to Holstein for the transport of peat, chalk, clay and cement, is today, together with the Lägerdorfer Moorkanal, a true natural paradise perfect for exploring by canoe.

Golf-Club Schloss Breitenburg Golf-Club Schloss Breitenburg

Golf-Club Schloss Breitenburg

Rest and relaxation coupled with a magical landscape and a fabulous 27-hole golf course – the Golf Club Schloss Breitenburg is a truly wonderful place to play golf. The golf club is located in the beautiful sturgeon lowlands and on the high Geest directly by the hotel and is therefore perfect for spending a few sporty hours and escaping the hectic everyday life.

Hunting Hunting

Hunting

Enjoy the natural scenery of our great outdoors with a hunting trip on the estate grounds. Depending on the hunting season, you can hunt for deer, red deer, fallow deer or wild boar. On request hunting for rabbits, pheasants and ducks is also possible. A prerequisite is possession of the German annual hunting license.

Fishing Fishing

Fishing

Located within the 25 Kilometer radius around Breitenburg, there are a total of 97 bodies of water and water courses; a real paradise for anglers. The fish-rich waters contain all main fish species such as eel, perch, bream, pike, carp, roach, tench, pikeperch and more. If you have any questions about clubs and guest cards, just contact the reception, where you will find all the information you need.

High Ropes High Ropes

High Ropes

If you want to venture out on shaky suspension bridges or swing with ropes from tree to tree, you can do so in the Heist high ropes course. The course is always perfectly secured and under expert guidance.

Museum of Rantzau County Museum of Rantzau County

Museum of Rantzau County

Barmstedt and the county of Rantzau have a long and interesting history. The museum on the castle island of Rantzau tells the history of the region and the everyday life of the people who lived and worked here in the past. It goes back to 1140, when the first mention of Barmstedt was documented. You can find out everything you need to know about the museum at www.museum-grafschaft-rantzau.de

Deepest Point in Germany Deepest Point in Germany

Deepest Point in Germany

Even if it is not a particularly spectacular point, it is and remains the lowest point in Germany. The deepest land area is located in the Wilstermarsch at 3.54 meters below sea level. At this point there is also an Artesian well, where the water comes to light independently due to the deep location.

Elbphilharmonie Elbphilharmonie

Elbphilharmonie

The Hamburg Elbphilharmonie also affectionately known as the Elphi – is a total work of art made up of breathtaking architecture, excellent music and a unique location. The new glass building with its boldly curved roofscape rises on the base of the former Kaispeicher at the western tip of HafenCity (Harbor City). World-class musicians and conductors often perform here. Program and tickets at www.elbphilharmonie.de

Rose Grower Kordes Rose Grower Kordes

Rose Grower Kordes

W. Kordes‘ Sons is one of the world‘s most important rose growers for garden, cut and pot roses. The passion for roses now extends to the 5th generation of the family. In the summer months the show garden welcomes you with intoxicating scents and an abundance of flowers. In short: you feel like in the 7th rose sky. More at: www.rosen.de

Sightseeing flight / Parachuting on the Hungry Wolf Sightseeing flight / Parachuting on the Hungry Wolf

Sightseeing flight / Parachuting on the Hungry Wolf

See the region with completely different eyes – from a bird‘s eye view. From the Hungry Wolf airfield, visitors can book a sightseeing flight or charter a plane at any time. If you are looking for more thrills, kite and paragliding as well as tandem parachute jumps are available. All information is available at www.fliegen-itzehoe.de

Rafting Rafting

Rafting

We cannot offer you a raging river with demanding rapids, but you can still experience that rafting feeling on our local waters. Please do not hesitate to contact us, our reception staff will be happy to help you.

Drivers Safety Training Drivers Safety Training

Drivers Safety Training

Drivers safety training is the chance to test you and your vehicle’s limits safely. Under the guidance of experienced trainers, you will learn techniques that will help you to deal with critical driving situations better.

Go Karting and 4-Wheeling Go Karting and 4-Wheeling

Go Karting and 4-Wheeling

Do a couple of quick laps with a go kart or would you rather ride a 4-wheeler over a hill and dale? Just do what you feel like doing. Both options can be reached by car after a short drive. Our reception will be happy to provide you with further information.

Mit der Nutzung dieser Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden. Mehr erfahren

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, seinen Aufenthalt im Hotel Breitenburg ganz nach den persönlichen Vorlieben zu gestalten. Ob ruhig und beschaulich, naturverbunden oder aktiv – wofür Sie sich auch entscheiden, wir haben das passende Angebot.

Ein kleiner Tipp für alle, die sich näher mit der Geschichte beschäftigen wollen, ist das Museum der Grafschaft Rantzau auf der Schlossinsel. Bis in das Jahr 1140 kann das Leben in dieser Region zurückverfolgt werden.

Reiten & Reitsport Reiten & Reitsport

Reiten & Reitsport

Reitsport hat auf Schloss Breitenburg eine lange Tradition. Schlossherr Breido Graf zu Rantzau ist selbst Pferdezüchter, ehemaliger Springreiter und Präsident der Deutschen Reiterlichen Vereinigung. Auf dem Gelände finden alle zwei Jahre die Breitenburger Reitertage statt. Ein Highlight, ausgetragen auf einem der schönsten Turnierplätze in Schleswig-Holstein.

In der umfangreichen Anlage halten wir auch stets Pferdeboxen für unsere Hotelgäste bereit. Vom Reitanfänger bis zum erfahrenen Turnierreiten bieten wir auf Wunsch individuelles Training an.

Yoga Yoga

Yoga

Es ist längst kein Geheimnis mehr: Yoga stärkt den Körper und sorgt für mehr Lebensfreude und Ausgeglichenheit im Alltag. Unsere Gäste können von der heilenden Kraft des Yoga profitieren. Von kraftvoll-athletisch bis ruhig-meditativ – wir haben für jeden Anspruch und jedes Level den richtigen Kurs. Und Sie kehren mit neuer Kraft in den Alltag zurück.

Fahrradtouren & Wanderungen Fahrradtouren & Wanderungen

Fahrradtouren & Wanderungen

Die Region Breitenburg ist ein wahres Paradies für Radfahrer und Wanderer. Einzigartige Natur mit weiten Feldern und Wiesen sowie jahrhundertealten Alleen sind ein Juwel für alle, die sich gerne die Zeit nehmen auch mal anzuhalten, innezuhalten und zu entdecken. Fragen Sie uns nach den schönsten Routen – wir helfen Ihnen gern.

Schloss Breitenburg Schloss Breitenburg

Schloss Breitenburg

Seit fast 500 Jahren residiert die Familie zu Rantzau auf Schloss Breitenburg und es ist auch heute noch privater Wohnsitz verschiedener Familienmitglieder. Aber es ist auch eine bedeutende Kulturstätte, nicht zuletzt durch die wertvolle Bibliothek.

Hin und wieder öffnet die Adelsfamilie die Türen und bietet Führungen durch das Schloss und über das Gelände an. Sollte sich Ihnen diese Gelegenheit bieten, lassen Sie sie sich nicht entgehen. Termine können Sie gern an der Rezeption erfragen.

Boule/Pétanque Boule/Pétanque

Boule/Pétanque

Wer eine ruhige Kugel schieben möchte, der ist bei dieser traditionellen französischen Sportart nur bedingt gut aufgehoben. Präzision und Konzentration stehen hier im Vordergrund und sind unabdingbar, möchte man auf der Gewinnerseite stehen. Ziel ist es, die eigenen Kugeln nah am Schweinchen, der kleinen farbigen Kugel aus Holz, zu platzieren.

Weintasting Weintasting

Weintasting

Ausgewählte Weine, exquisites Ambiente, geteiltes Fachwissen und kleine kulinarische Highlights – herzlich willkommen bei unserem Weintasting. Erleben Sie, wie viele Facetten Wein haben kann und was für Geschichten er erzählt. Entdecken Sie Aromen, Winzer und Anbaugebiete. Unser Sommelier führt Sie durch den Abend und das garantiert nicht trocken.

Picknick Picknick

Picknick

Ob romantisch zu zweit, mit Freunden oder der ganzen Familie – ein Picknick in der Natur ist immer ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis. Besonders in der einzigartigen Umgebung von Schloss Breitenburg. Kurz gesagt: Wir packen Ihnen, dem Anlass entsprechend, einen Korb und Sie brauchen nur noch zu genießen.

Lägerdorfer Kreidegruben Lägerdorfer Kreidegruben

Lägerdorfer Kreidegruben

Wer sich für Geologie und Fossilien interessiert, dem sei eine Führung in den Lägerdorfer Kreidegruben „Saturn“ und „Heidestraße“ wärmstens empfohlen. Unter fachkundiger Anleitung erfahrener Hobby-Paläontologen wird nach Seeigeln und Donnerkeilen gesucht. Die Funde dürfen selbstverständlich anschließend mit nach Hause genommen werden.

Kanutour auf dem Breitenburger Kanal Kanutour auf dem Breitenburger Kanal

Kanutour auf dem Breitenburger Kanal

Der Breitenburger Kanal, einst für den Transport von Torf, Kreide, Ton und Zement von Graf Konrad zu Holstein erbaut, ist heute zusammen mit dem Lägerdorfer Moorkanal ein wahres Naturparadies und perfekt mit dem Kanu zu erkunden.

Golf-Club Schloss Breitenburg Golf-Club Schloss Breitenburg

Golf-Club Schloss Breitenburg

Erholung, eine zauberhafte Landschaft und dazu ein sagenhafter 27-Loch-Golfplatz – der Golf-Club Schloss Breitenburg ist ein wahrhaft märchenhafter Ort zum Golf spielen. Gelegen in den wunderschönen Störniederungen und auf der hohen Geest. Durch die verschiedenen Landschafts- und Platztypen ist das Spiel besonders abwechslungsreich.

Der Golfplatz liegt direkt am Hotel und eignet sich perfekt, um hier während des Urlaubs ein paar sportliche Stunden zu verbringen.

Jagd Jagd

Jagd

Nicht nur der Graf ist ein passionierter Jäger, auch viele unserer Gäste schätzen die Abwechslung zum heimischen Revier. Je nach Jagdzeit ermöglichen wir Ihnen die Jagd auf Reh-, Rot-, Dam- und Schwarzwild. Auf Wunsch auch auf Hasen, Kaninchen, Fasane und Enten. Voraussetzung ist der Besitz des deutschen Jahresjagdscheins.

Angeln Angeln

Angeln

Im Umkreis von nur 25 Kilometern rund um Breitenburg sind insgesamt 97 Gewässer und Gewässerstrecken verzeichnet. Ein wahres Paradies für Angler. Die fischreichen Gewässer führen sämtliche wichtige Fischarten wie Aal, Barsch, Brasse, Hecht, Karpfen, Rotauge, Schleie, Zander und mehr. Bei Fragen zu Vereinen und Gästekarten wenden Sie sich einfach die Rezeption, dort bekommen Sie alle nötigen Informationen.

Hochseilgarten Hochseilgarten

Hochseilgarten

Wer sich auf wackelige Hängebrücken wagen möchte oder mit Seilen von Baum zu Baum zu schwingen will, der kann dies tun: im Hochseilgarten Heist. Natürlich immer perfekt abgesichert und unter fachkundiger Anleitung.

Museum der Grafschaft Rantzau Museum der Grafschaft Rantzau

Museum der Grafschaft Rantzau

Barmstedt und die Grafschaft Rantzau haben eine lange und interessante Historie. Das Museum auf der Schlossinsel Rantzau erzählt die Geschichte der Region und den Alltag der Menschen, die hier in den vergangenen Epochen lebten und arbeiteten. Dabei geht es zurück bis ins Jahr 1140, der ersten urkundlichen Erwähnung Barmstedts. Alles Wissenswerte rund um das Museum erfahren Sie unter www.museum-grafschaft-rantzau.de

Tiefster Punkt Deutschlands Tiefster Punkt Deutschlands

Tiefster Punkt Deutschlands

Auch, wenn es sich nicht um einen besonders spektakulären Punkt handelt, so ist und bleibt es doch der tiefste Punkt Deutschlands. Gelegen in der Wilstermarsch mit 3,54 Metern unter Normalnull befindet sich die tiefste Landstelle. An dieser Stelle befindet sich auch ein Artesischer Brunnen, bei dem das Wasser durch die tiefe Lage selbständig zutage tritt.

Elbphilharmonie Elbphilharmonie

Elbphilharmonie

Die Hamburger Elbphilharmonie – liebevoll auch Elphi genannt – ist ein Gesamtkunstwerk aus atemberaubender Architektur, exzellenter Musik und einzigartiger Lage.
Auf dem Sockel des ehemaligen Kaispeichers an der westlichen Spitze der Hafencity erhebt sich der gläserne Neubau mit seiner kühn geschwungenen Dachlandschaft. Musiker und Dirigenten von Weltrang sind hier zu Gast. Programm und Tickets unter www.elbphilharmonie.de

Rosenzüchter Kordes Rosenzüchter Kordes

Rosenzüchter Kordes

W. Kordes‘ Söhne ist einer der weltweit bedeutendsten Rosenzüchter für Garten-, Schnitt- und Topf-Rosen. Mittlerweile reicht die Leidenschaft für Rosen bis in die 5. Generation. In den Sommermonaten empfängt Sie der Schaugarten mit berauschenden Düften und einer überreichen Blütenpracht. Kurz gesagt: Sie fühlen sich wie im 7. Rosenhimmel. Mehr unter: www.rosen.de

Rundflug/Fallschirmspringen am Hungrigen Wolf Rundflug/Fallschirmspringen am Hungrigen Wolf

Rundflug/Fallschirmspringen am Hungrigen Wolf

Sehen Sie die Region einmal mit ganz anderen Augen – aus der Vogelperspektive. Vom Flugplatz Hungriger Wolf aus können Besucher jederzeit einen Rundflug buchen oder ein Flugzeug chartern. Wer mehr Nervenkitzel sucht, für den werden Drachen- und Gleitschirmfliegen sowie Tandem-Fallschirmsprünge angeboten. Alle Informationen bekommen Sie unter www.fliegen-itzehoe.de

Rafting Rafting

Rafting

Wir können Ihnen zwar keinen reißenden Fluss mit anspruchsvollen Stromschnellen bieten, aber das gewisse Rafting-Gefühl kann man auch auf heimischen Gewässern erleben. Sprechen Sie uns gern an, unsere Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption helfen Ihnen weiter.

Fahrsicherheitstraining Fahrsicherheitstraining

Fahrsicherheitstraining

Fahrsicherheitstraining ist die Chance, die eigenen Grenzen und die Ihres Fahrzeugs gefahrlos auszutesten. Unter Anleitung erfahrener Trainer erlernen Sie Techniken, die Ihnen helfen, kritische Fahrsituationen besser zu bewältigen.

Kart & Quad fahren Kart & Quad fahren

Kart & Quad fahren

Mit dem Kart ein paar schnelle Runden drehen oder lieber mit dem Quad über Stock und Stein? Machen Sie einfach das, wonach Ihnen der Sinn steht. Beide Möglichkeiten sind mit dem Auto nach kurzer Fahrzeit zu erreichen. Unsere Rezeption gibt Ihnen gern weitere Informationen.